One of the unique things about Instagram Live is that the videos have always disappeared. After your live stream is over the content is deleted forever — unlike Facebook Live or Periscope, which save your video so audiences can view it after the fact.
The company just announced that broadcasters will have the option to save live videos to their phone after they are done streaming. It’s pretty simple — when your stream ends you’ll see a save button in the upper-right corner — you tap it and the video gets saved to your camera roll.
Notably, these live videos still won’t be saved on Instagram — so viewers should still feel an urgency to watch since it will be their only chance to see the stream.
The update will roll out today for iOS and Android phones.